The Tale of Vitya Starukhin, 
a boy from Nizhny Tagil, 
becoming the Japanese 
baseball star, Viktor 
Starffin. 
21.08.21 – 10.10.21
Tue – Sun: 9:30 – 18:00
Thursday – 10:30 – 19:00
Monday – day off
Nizhny Tagil Municipal Museum of Fine Arts, Nizhny Tagil
Go back
21.08.21 – 10.10.21
Tue – Sun: 9:30 – 18:00
Thursday – 10:30 – 19:00
Monday – day off
Exhibition dedicated to the legendary Japanese baseball player Viktor Starukhin, who was born in Nizhny Tagil and emigrated to Japan.
Artists –

For the first time, artist Ikuru Kuwajima presents the legendary Japanese baseball player from Nizhny Tagil Viktor Starukhin in his hometown. Starukhin was born in Nizhny Tagil in 1916, and after the Russian Revolution, he left the country with his parents. In Japan, he started playing baseball and made a brilliant career in it. The exhibition features archival materials about Starukhin and Japanese-Tagil collages with imaginary scenes of the Japanese baseball star coming back to his hometown that he left during the civil war. Kuvajima's project coincided with the emergence of the first baseball team in Tagil. Thus, the Ural Industrial Biennial and the Sports Development Center jointly built a baseball field in honor of Viktor Starukhin on the initiative of the artist. It is located outside Nizhny Tagil, in the village of Gornouralsky, where the team is based. The artist documented the baseball field construction and take photos of the new Nizhny Tagil baseball players. 

The exhibition space also displays a teaser of a documentary film about Starukhin, shot by the Bulgarian-American director Chavdar Georgiev; paintings by Starukhin's grandson, Terry Ogat, who lives in the US; and archival photos of Oleg Starukhin, a relative of Viktor Starukhin who remained in Nizhniy Tagil after the Revolution. Most of the photos of Starukhin were given by Natalia Starukhina, the daughter of Viktor Starukhin. She also wrote several books about her father. 

About Viktor Starukhin 

The legendary Japanese baseball player, emigrant Viktor K. Starukhin was born in Nizhny Tagil in 1916. After the revolution, Starukhin, his father Konstantin, a former tsarist officer, and his mother Evdokia left for Harbin and then emigrated to Japan in 1925. At school, he showed exceptional talent for baseball, which later became the most popular and commercially successful sport in the country. He joined the professional team before graduating from school in 1934. 

During his twenty-year glittering career, Starukhin was the best pitcher in the league for a long time. He broke many records and input his name into the history of Japan. But shortly after the end of his career in 1957, he died in a car accident at the age of 40. Although Starukhin felt like a Japanese, he never acquired citizenship. After Starukhin's death, the baseball stadium Asahikawa, where he grew up, was named after him. To this day, the Japanese media have been talking about his great career and extraordinary life.

Nizhny Tagil Municipal Museum of Fine Arts, Nizhny Tagil, 4 Uralskaya Street

WE USE COOKIES TO MAKE THE WEBSITE WORK BETTER AND FASTER. HOPE YOU'RE OK WITH THAT.
DETAILS
ОК

Сказ о том, как тагильский мальчик Витя 
Старухин стал японским бейсболистом 
Виктором Старфином 
21.08.21 – 01.10.21
Вт – Вс: 9:30 – 18:00
Четверг: 10:30 – 19:00
Понедельник: выходной
Нижнетагильский муниципальный музей изобразительных искусств, Нижний Тагил
Назад
21.08.21 – 01.10.21
Вт – Вс: 9:30 – 18:00
Четверг: 10:30 – 19:00
Понедельник: выходной
Выставка, посвященная легендарному японскому бейсболисту Виктору Старухину, родившемуся в Нижнем Тагиле в 1916 году и эмигрировавшему на восток.
Художники –

Художник Икуру Куваджима впервые представляет легендарного японского бейсболиста-тагильчанина Виктора Старухина на его родине. Старухин родился в Нижнем Тагиле в 1916 году, а после революции эмигрировал вместе с родителями. В Японии он стал профессиональным бейсболистом и сделал блестящую карьеру в этом спорте. Помимо архивных материалов о Старухине, на выставке представлены японско-тагильские коллажи, показывающие воображаемые сюжеты возвращения японского героя-бейсболиста обратно на родину, которую он покинул во время гражданской войны. Проект Куваджима также совпал с недавним запуском первой в Тагиле бейсбольной команды и по инициативе художника Уральская индустриальная биеннале и Центр развития спорта совместно построили в честь Виктора Старухина бейсбольное поле под Нижним Тагилом в поселке Горноуральский, где базируется команда. Художник документировал процесс создания поля и фотографировал вторых после Старухина тагильских бейсболистов для выставки. 

В выставочном пространстве также экспонируются тизер документального кино о Старухине, снятого болгарско-американским режиссером Чавдаром Георгиевым, картины живущего в США внука Старухина, Терри Огата, и архивные фотографии Олега Старухина, оставшегося в Тагиле родственника Виктор Старухина. Большая часть архивных фотографий Старухина была предоставлена Натальей Старухиной, дочкой Виктора Старухина и автора нескольких книг о своем отце. 

О Викторе Старухине 

Легендарный японский бейсболист-белоэмигрант Виктор Константинович Старухин родился в Нижнем Тагиле в 1916 году. После революции Старухин с отцом Константином, бывшим царским офицером, и матерью Евдокией нашли убежище в Харбине и затем эмигрировали в Японию в 1925-м. В школе он проявил небывалый талант в бейсболе, который позже стал самым популярным и коммерчески успешным спортом в стране (по масштабу подобным английской премьер-лиге), и вступил в профессиональную команду в 1934 году перед окончанием школы. 

На протяжении своей двадцатилетней блистательной карьеры Старухин долго выступал самым лучшим питчером в лиге, побив множество рекордов и оставив свое имя в истории Японии. Но вскоре после завершения своей карьеры в 1957 году он попал в аварию и умер в возрасте 40 лет. Старухин чувствовал себя японцем, но всю жизнь прожил лицом без гражданства. После смерти Старухина бейсбольный стадион в городе Асахикава, где вырос Старухин, был назван в честь него, и японские СМИ продолжают рассказывать о его выдающейся карьере и весьма необычной жизни по сей день.

Нижнетагильский муниципальный музей изобразительных искусств, г. Нижний Тагил, ул. Уральская, д. 7

 

 

Мы используем cookies, чтобы улучшить работу и повысить эффективность сайта. Продолжая пользование данным сайтом, вы соглашаетесь с использованием файлов cookies.

ОК