Artist of the main project
Maria Thereza
Alves
Brazil
Artist of the main project

Maria Thereza Alves, 1961
Brazil

www.mariatherezaalves.org/

The exhibition at the Optical and Mechanical Plant features the artwork

Borderline (2021)

Installation: wood, paint. Courtesy of the artist

Since the 1990s Maria Thereza Alves has been investigating the devastating effects of Portuguese imperialism on the indigenous peoples of her native Brazil and the impact of the Spanish conquest in the Americas. She works with a wide range of documentary and other representational practices with social engagement and participation.

The context of the Urals with its ancient history provided the artist with an inspiration to think about the art of the native peoples that existed prior to Russian colonization. The main object of this inquiry is the Shigir Idol — the oldest known wooden sculpture in the world, displayed in the Museum of History and Archaeology, to whom the artist pays a poetic tribute with her installation at the Ural Optical and Mechanical Plant building.


Maria Thereza Alves was born in 1961 in Sao Paulo and now lives in Berlin. She is an artist. In 1987, she co-founded the Green Party in Sao Paulo.

Maria Thereza Alves realizes site-specific works on art and ecological issues, local and environmental history involving botanists, public officials, and communities. Her works are based on the idea that in industrialized countries and developing countries, agricultural lands are mostly covered with plants introduced from outside territories.

Maria Thereza Alves, 1961
Brazil

www.mariatherezaalves.org/

WE USE COOKIES TO MAKE THE WEBSITE WORK BETTER AND FASTER. HOPE YOU'RE OK WITH THAT. DETAILS

ОК

Художник основного проекта
Мария Тереза
Алвес
Бразилия
Художник основного проекта

Мария Тереза Алвес, 1961
Бразилия

www.mariatherezaalves.org/

На оптико-механическом заводе представлена работа 

Межа (2021)

Инсталляция: дерево, краска. Предоставлено автором

С 1990-х годов Мария Тереза Алвес исследует разрушительные последствия португальского империализма для коренных народов ее родной Бразилии и влияние испанских завоеваний в Америке. Она работает с широким спектром документальных и других репрезентативных практик с вовлечением широкой публики.

Контекст Урала с его древней историей подтолкнул художницу к размышлениям об искусстве коренных народов, существовавшем до российской колонизации. Ее сайт-специфическая инсталляция на территории Уральского оптико-механического завода, вдохновлена Шигирским идолом — старейшей деревянной скульптурой в мире, представленной в Музее истории и археологии Урала.


Художница Мария Тереза Алвес родилась в 1961 году в Сан-Паулу и сейчас живет в Берлине. В 1987 году она стала соучредителем Партии зеленых в Сан-Паулу.

Работы Марии Терезы связаны с искусством и экологией. Она привлекает к созданию своих работ ботаников, чиновников и различные сообщества. Творчество Алвес основывается на идее, что сельскохозяйственные угодья в промышленно развитых и в развивающихся странах в значительной степени состоят из растений, которые привезли из других стран.

Мария Тереза Алвес, 1961
Бразилия

www.mariatherezaalves.org/

Мы используем cookies, чтобы улучшить работу и повысить эффективность сайта. Продолжая пользование данным сайтом, вы соглашаетесь с использованием файлов cookies.

ОК