Artist of the main project
Jimmy
Robert
France / Germany
Artist of the main project

Jimmy Robert, 1975
France / Germany

www.instagram.com/jimmyvaleryrobert/

Exhibitions at the Circus and in the Museum of History and Archaeology of the Urals features the artwork

Under Amour (2021)

Performance, a series of photographs. Courtesy of the artist

Under Amour addresses the fragility of the body that we seek to hide under the guise of strength. This theme emerges as the artist tries to distinguish between the concepts of armour (French: armour) and love (French: amour), which in fact turn out to be extremely close to each other, as they are both related to the problem of human vulnerability.

In his afterword to the Politics of aesthetics by Jacques Rancieres, Slavoj Zizek interrogates: “when three decades ago Kung-fu films were popular, was it not obvious that we were dealing with a genuine working class ideology of youngsters whose only means of success was the disciplinary training of their only possession, their bodies?” Similarly, Indian Marxist historian Vijay Prashad, in his book on African-Asian relations, notes that historically martial arts culture has created political solidarity and interracial identification among oppressed peoples around the globe.

Jimmy Robert’s project revolves around a series of pictures of trained people reenacting various poses from Kung-fu in the circus premises, which are normally reserved for animals. This is not without evoking the human fairs of the turn of the last century where Asian and African people were exhibited. The artist puts forward such questions as: How are martial arts viewed today? Is it still an empowering knowledge? Does this act of self-defense still protect us? What is our relation to the East through this embodied cultural knowledge? What do we learn from the animals, and have we become wiser?

Besides photographs, the artist re-activates the space of the circus by introducing a series of choreographies acting as interventions in the guided tours of the biennial.


Jimmy Robert was born in Guadeloupe (France) in 1975 and currently lives and works in Berlin. His multidisciplinary practice encompasses performance, photography, film, and collage, frequently collapsing distinctions between these mediums. Robert's interest in how the body can be personified through materials and the reverse is a force that integrates his longtime work with performance with his larger practice. Robert has choreographed performances within exhibition spaces, in relation to existing architectural structures, as well as restaging, reframing, or sampling historical performances. The frequent citation of moments from art history, film, and literature is characteristic of his deeply layered narratives.

Robert was the subject of a mid-career survey at Nottingham Contemporary in 2020. This exhibition is currently on view at Museion, Bolzano until 29 August, and will travel to CRAC Occitanie, Sète in October 2021. His most recent performance Joie Noire premiered in 2019 at KW Institute of Contemporary Art, Berlin, and traveled to Kaaitheater, Brussels. 

Robert’s performances have also been presented at Tate Britain, London; MoMA, New York, and Migros Museum, Zurich. Recent solo exhibitions include The Hunterian, Glasgow (2021); La Synagogue De Delme, France (2018); Museum M, Leuven (2017); Power Plant, Toronto (2013); Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago (2012); and Jeu de Paume, Paris (2012). 

Photo by Roman Goebel; courtesy of the artist and Tanya Leighton, Berlin

Jimmy Robert, 1975
France / Germany

www.instagram.com/jimmyvaleryrobert/

WE USE COOKIES TO MAKE THE WEBSITE WORK BETTER AND FASTER. HOPE YOU'RE OK WITH THAT. DETAILS

ОК

Художник основного проекта
Джимми
Роберт
Франция / Германия
Художник основного проекта

Джимми Роберт, 1975
Франция / Германия

www.instagram.com/jimmyvaleryrobert/

В цирке и в музее истории и археологии Урала представлена работа

Under Amour (2021)

Перформанс, серия фотографий. Предоставлено автором

Перформанс «Under Amour» обращен к теме хрупкости тела, которую мы стремимся скрыть за маской силы. Эта тема возникла как результат размышлений над сходством слов «armour» (фр. доспехи) и «amour» (фр. любовь), которые в действительности оказываются чрезвычайно близки друг другу, поскольку оба связаны с проблемой человеческой уязвимости.

Славой Жижек в своем послесловии к «Политике эстетики» Жака Рансьера спрашивает: «…когда несколько десятилетий тому назад были популярны кунг-фу фильмы, не было ли очевидно, что мы имеем дело с подлинной классовой идеологией рабочей молодежи, для которой единственным средством достижения успеха являются дисциплинирующие тренировки того, чем они обладают, их собственных тел?» Схожую мысль высказывает индийский историк марксистского толка Виджай Прашад в своей книге об афро-азиатских связях, отмечая, что исторически культура боевых искусств породила политическую солидарность и межрасовую идентичность между угнетенными народами по всему миру.

Проект Джимми Роберта развивается вокруг серии фотографий натренированных людей, которые воспроизводят различные позы из кунг-фу, находясь в пространствах цирка, которые обычно предназначены для животных, — не без отсылки к ярмаркам людей или человеческим зоопаркам, просуществовавшим вплоть до начала ХХ века, на которых демонстрировались представители Азии и Африки. Художник ставит вопросы: как рассматривать боевые искусства сегодня? являются ли они по-прежнему знанием, дающим силы? действительно ли самооборона является защитой? каково наше отношение к Востоку как к культурному знанию, воплощенному в боевых искусствах? чему мы учимся у животных и стали ли мы мудрее?

Художник активирует пространство цирка, внедряя серию хореографических интервенций в экскурсии по биеннале.


Джимми Роберт родился в 1975 году в Гваделупе, Франция. Сейчас он живет Берлине. Джимми Роберт —  междисциплинарный художник, он работает с перформансом, фотографией, кино и коллажем, часто стирая грань между этими медиа. Интерес Роберта к тому, как можно персонифицировать тело с помощью материалов и наоборот, объединяет его многолетние перформативные практики с остальными сферами его творчества. Роберт ставил перформансы в выставочных пространствах, а также перестраивал или переосмысливал исторические перформансы. Для его многослойных нарративов характерны частые отсылки к истории искусства, кино и литературы.

В 2020 году галерея Nottingham Contemporary организовала ретроспективу Джимми Роберта. В октябре 2021 года эта выставка отправится в центр современного искусства CRAC Occitanie в Сете, Франция. Премьера его последнего перформанса «Joie Noire» состоялась в 2019 году в Институте современного искусства KW в Берлине и в театре Kaaitheater в Брюсселе. Перформансы Роберта также были представлены в лондонской галерее Тейт, МоМА в Нью-Йорке и музее Мигрос в Цюрихе.

Недавние персональные выставки: галерея Hunterian, Глазго (2021); центр современного искусства La Synagogue De Delme, Дельм, Франция (2018 г.); Museum M, Левен, Бельгия (2017); Power Plant, Торонто (2013 г.); Музей современного искусства, Чикаго (2012); и галерея Jeu de Paume, Париж (2012).

Фото Roman Goebel, любезно предоставлено художником и галереей Tanya Leighton, Берлин.

Джимми Роберт, 1975
Франция / Германия

www.instagram.com/jimmyvaleryrobert/

проекты и события:
2.10.21 3.10.21
Суббота, Воскресенье 16:00 – 17:00
Основной проект
Цирк, 8 Марта, 43, Екатеринбург
«Under Amour» Перформанс Джимми Роберта
Цирк, 8 Марта, 43, Екатеринбург

Мы используем cookies, чтобы улучшить работу и повысить эффективность сайта. Продолжая пользование данным сайтом, вы соглашаетесь с использованием файлов cookies.

ОК