Artist of the main project
Anton
Stoianov
Bulgaria / Germany
Artist of the main project

Anton Stoianov, 1978
Bulgaria / Germany

www.instagram.com/_antonstoianov_/

Exhibition at the Optical and Mechanical Plant features artworks:

Untitled (2010–2012)

Socks attached to canvas, 3 pieces, 240 × 240 cm each, one divided in two parts. Courtesy of the artist

Anton Stoianov experiments with diverse materials, tools and production techniques. Reflecting the soul of Berlin where he has been residing in recent years, the Bulgarian artist has produced large-scale abstract paintings — without paint or pigment. At first glance, the work evokes minimalist half-toned compositions until the tri-dimensionality of the medium, grids of variably worn cotton socks, reveals itself to an absurdly abject effect, leading to cognitive dissonance. These biomorphic paintings by Anton Stoianov express affinity with repulsive bodies of work situated outside the symbolic order and strategically forced upon the viewer’s gaze in order to maintain boundaries between nature and society. In the context of the pandemic and new conditions of hygiene, the viewer is confronted to reconsider the feeling of cleanness and dirt.


Uraltopia (2021)

Uralholia (2021)

Glass and UV glue, both 160 cm X 160 cm

Uralobia (2021)

Uraltonia (2021)

Glass and UV glue, both 160 cm diameter

Courtesy of the artist

The unique mirror pieces inspired by Stoianov’s glassworks training at the Glaser-Innung Berlin, reflect the architecture, environment, and spaces, where they are installed, through shadows, light and gazes that change during the day. The presence of the audience with their gaze is part of the artistic proposal, which creates aesthetical, dynamic and reflective connections to their location. He clearly refers to color symbolism, and Alexander Scriabin (1872–1915) who lived and worked within artistic traditions in Russia, in which the various avant-garde movements in music and art from Western Europe had flourished. As a literary-philosophical movement, Russian Symbolism grew from these western European roots, and took different forms in the artistic circles of St. Petersburg and Moscow.


The Circus features a site-specific installation Fab-Egg (2021), created specially for the 6th Ural Biennial. It is a huge reflective sphere suspended under the Circus dome. It is accompanied by an electronic musical creation composed by Viktor Ilieff. The idea of this work is to unite sound, color and space in order to immerse the viewer into a synthetic experience, which is inspired by the “color-tonality” theory of the Russian Silver Age composer Alexander Scriabin and is inscribed into the context of “synaesthetic perception”. In their joint work, the authors aim to create the feeling of Gesamtkunstwerk so much aspired by generations of artists.


Anton Stoianov lives and works in Berlin. He entered the Murals Arts Program of the National Academy of Art in Sofia, continuing his education at the Universität fur Angewandte Kunst, Vienna in 2001. In 2007, he graduated from the Universität der Künste, Berlin. In 2006, he was an exchange student at the California College of the Arts, San Francisco.

He works in the field of painting, relief, installation, objects, design, and scenography. Through experiments with typical or atypical materials, techniques, basics, and formats, he explores the stylistic and conceptual aspects of contemporary painting. 

He has numerous solo shows and group projects: xavierlaboulbenne Gallery, Apartment, Nice & Fit (Berlin), Bulgarian Cultural Institute Haus Wittgenstein (Vienna), Elektrohaus (Hamburg), Sariev Contemporary Gallery, (Plovdiv), Æther, Structura Gallery (Sofia), etc. He had a solo exhibition at the art fair Art Cologne, 2018. Anton Stoianov is part of the Louis Vuitton Collection, Paris. This year he will participate in the 6th Ural Industrial Biennial, Ekaterinburg.

Photo by Jetmir Idrizi

Anton Stoianov, 1978
Bulgaria / Germany

www.instagram.com/_antonstoianov_/

WE USE COOKIES TO MAKE THE WEBSITE WORK BETTER AND FASTER. HOPE YOU'RE OK WITH THAT. DETAILS

ОК

Художник основного проекта
Антон
Стоянов
Болгария / Германия
Художник основного проекта

Антон Стоянов, 1978
Болгария / Германия

www.instagram.com/_antonstoianov_/

На оптико-механическом заводе представлены работы:

Без названия (2010–2012)

Холст, носки. 3 объекта, 240 × 240 см каждый, один состоит из двух частей. Предоставлено автором

Антон Стоянов экспериментирует с различными материалами, инструментами и техниками. Наблюдая за духом Берлина, где он живет в последние годы, болгарский художник создал серию широкоформатных абстрактных работ без использования краски. На первый взгляд работа напоминает минималистские полутональные композиции, пока трехмерность носителя, состоящего из рядов хлопковых носков разной степени изношенности не проявляет эффект абсурдности, ведущий к когнитивному диссонансу. Биоморфная живопись Стоянова родственна отталкивающим произведениям, находящимся за пределами символического порядка и стратегически навязана взору зрителя, чтобы подчеркнуть границы между природой и обществом. В контексте пандемии и новых правил гигиены зрителю предлагается пересмотреть понятия чистоты и грязи.

УФ-революция (2018)

Стекло Saint Gobain, УФ-клей. Предоставлено автором и галереей xavierlaboubenne, Берлин

Уникальные работы из стекла, которые Стоянов выполнил благодаря обучению на стекольщика в Берлине, отражают архитектуру, окружающую среду и пространство, где они установлены, а тени, свет и взгляды меняют это отражение на протяжении дня. Присутствие аудитории и ее взглядов — часть замысла художника, призванная эстетически и динамически соединить ее с пространством. Здесь есть отчетливая отсылка к Александру Скрябину (1872–1915) и той российской художественной традиции, в которой расцвели авангардные направления в музыке и искусстве, рожденные в Западной Европе. Литературно-философское направление русского символизма выросло из западноевропейской культуры и приняло различные формы в художественных кругах Санкт-Петербурга и Москвы. 

Помимо зеркал на заводе, Стоянов также представит новую работу на крыше цирка. Созданный специально для биеннале паблик-арт-объект — диско-шар отсылает к цветовым символистским композициям и отражает дух времени — нахождения между утопическими идеями и антиутопическими пространствами, который особенно чувствуется в Берлине.


Антон Стоянов родился в 1978 в Софии, Болгария. Сейчас живет в Берлине. В 2001 году он поступил на программу монументального искусства Национальной академии искусств в Софии и затем продолжил свое образование в Венском университете прикладного искусства. В 2007 году он окончил Берлинский университет искусств. В 2006 году он был студентом по обмену в Калифорнийском колледже искусств в Сан-Франциско.

Стоянов работает в области живописи, рельефа, инсталляции, дизайна и сценографии. Экспериментируя с традиционными и нетипичными материалами, техниками, основами и форматами, он исследует стилистические и концептуальные аспекты современной живописи.

На счету Антона Стоянова многочисленные персональные выставки и участие в групповых проектах в берлинских галереях xavierlaboulbenne, Apartment и Nice & Fit, в Болгарском культурном институте Haus Wittgenstein в Вене, в выставочном пространстве Elektrohaus в Гамбурге, в галерее Sariev в Пловдиве и др. Он участвовал с персональной выставкой на художественной ярмарке Art Cologne в 2018, а также в ярмарках в Стамбуле и Берлине. Работы Антона Стоянова входят в коллекцию Louis Vuitton в Париже.

Фото Jetmir Idrizi

Антон Стоянов, 1978
Болгария / Германия

www.instagram.com/_antonstoianov_/

Мы используем cookies, чтобы улучшить работу и повысить эффективность сайта. Продолжая пользование данным сайтом, вы соглашаетесь с использованием файлов cookies.

ОК