Artist of the main project
Runo
Lagomarsino
Sweden
Artist of the main project

Runo Lagomarsino, 1977
Sweden

www.runolagomarsino.com/

Exhibition at the Optical and Mechanical Plant features artworks:

WE (2017)

Nails, steel, 200 × 310 × 6 cm. Courtesy of the artist and Francesca Minini, Milan

The installation WE is a message of unity, encounter and hope. It invites us to reflect on the idea of community and a sense of belonging, which are inextricably linked to the central concept of the artwork. A close look at the piece reveals the underlying pain and violence hiding behind its message of togetherness. This message of unity is revealed through the specificity of the chosen material — a multitude of small nails, which form a compositional unity. The sharp and caustic nail becomes a weapon capable of dictating boundaries and defining them as insurmountable.

Violent Corners (2017/2021) 

Site specific installation, golden leaf applied on walls. Courtesy of the artist

In his artistic practice Lagomarsino revisits linguistic, historical and political geographical constructs that shape our knowledge. He manages to observe and investigate history and its mistakes, and today’s political and social structures, from multiple perspectives and definitions.

His site-specific installation intervenes in the space of the Optical and Mechanical Plant, covering all the sides of columns at their tops with golden foil. Following the surface and angles of the metal and concrete, Violent Corners accentuates the structure of the industrial building, metaphorically highlighting the different power dynamics involved in an institutional framework. At the same time the work emphasizes the continuity between different historical moments and the symbolic representations they construct. From colonial times to modernity, from Baroque curvaceousness to avant-garde geometry, and from icon painting to industry.


Exhibition at Salute Cinema features artwork

AMERICAMNESIA (2017)

Ink applied on wall, two rubber stamps and black ink, variable dimensions. Courtesy of the artist; Nils Staerk, Copenhagen; Mendes Wood DM, São Paulo

In AmericAmnesia the phrase “America Amnesia” has been stamped repetitively line after line covering an entire room, creating something between a pattern and a sign. By the simple poetic act of superimposing the last A in America with the first A in Amnesia and the last A in Amnesia with the first in America the work makes these two words inseparable and sets in motion questions regarding the forgotten history of America, the blind spots of historiography or what Walter Mignolo calls “the darker side of modernity”. By allowing the first letters to overlap, Lagomarsino both connects and dissolves them in one simple gesture. On the other hand the work can also be read as a critique to the common misconception of referring to America when we mean the United States.


Runo Lagomarsino lives and works in Malmö, Sweden. Working with a range of materials, such as installations, sculpture, drawings, and actions Lagomarsino's work points towards the gaps and cracks in our explanation models and truth claims, highlighting language’s precarious foundation. Language, geography, historiography, and power are themes that he revisits in his artistic work, using materials that often evoke memories of our past, to ask us to reflect the conditions enabling these connections. Forms, which he then attacks, shifts, transcends, scrutinizes, and confronts. With precise and poetic displacements, he constructs frictions between language, iconography, and prevailing narratives.

Photo by Krzysztof Zielinski

Runo Lagomarsino, 1977
Sweden

www.runolagomarsino.com/

WE USE COOKIES TO MAKE THE WEBSITE WORK BETTER AND FASTER. HOPE YOU'RE OK WITH THAT. DETAILS

ОК

Художник основного проекта
Руно
Лагомарсино
Швеция
Художник основного проекта

Руно Лагомарсино, 1977
Швеция

www.runolagomarsino.com/

На оптико-механическом заводе представлены работы:

МЫ (2017)

Сталь, гвозди, 200 × 310 × 6 см. Предоставлено автором и Франческой Минини, Милан

Инсталляция «МЫ» рассказывает о единстве, встрече и надежде. Она заставляет задуматься об идее общности и чувстве принадлежности, которые неразрывно связаны с центральным понятием этого произведения. Пристальный взгляд на работу позволяет обнаружить в ней скрытые боль и насилие, которые прячутся за посланием единения. Этот смысловой план работы раскрывается благодаря особой специфике выбранного материала — множеству маленьких гвоздей, образующих композиционное единство. Острый и едкий гвоздь представляется оружием, способным диктовать границы и определять их как непреодолимые.

Жестокие углы (2017/2021)

Сайт-специфическая инсталляция: листовое золото, нанесенное на стены. Предоставлено автором

В своем творчество Лагомарсино исследует языковые, исторические и политико-географические конструкты, которые определяют наше знание. Он вглядывается в историю и ее ошибки, наблюдает за современными политическими и социальными структурами с разных точек зрения и исследует их многозначность.

Сайт-специфическая инсталляция «Жестокие углы» внедряется в пространство Уральского оптико-механического завода: золотая фольга покрывает углы колонн у потолка, следуя оригинальной структуре здания из металла и бетона. Подсвечивая структуру промышленного здания, она метафорически подчеркивает динамику власти, которая пронизывает институциональный контекст. В то же время работа отсылает к преемственности между разными историческими эпохами и их сконструированными символическими репрезентациями. От колониальных времен к модерности, от извилистых барочных форм к геометрии авангарда, от иконописи к индустриальности.


В кинотеатре Салют представлена работа

AMERICAMNESIA (2017/2021)

Стена, чернила, два резиновых штампа, размеры варьируются. Предоставлено автором; Нильсом Стаерком, Копенгаген; Мендес Вуд ДМ, Сан-Паулу

В работе «AmericAmnesia» фраза «America Amnesia» повторяется бесконечное количество раз, заполняя собой все пространство, создавая синтез языкового шаблона (штампа) и знака, наполненного смыслом. Простым, но эффективным творческим приемом наложения последней буквы А в слове America на первую А в слове Amnesia, а также последней буквы А в Amnesia на первую А в America автором создается непрерывное единство этих двух слов. Этот прием также наводит на мысль о забытой истории Америки, о темных пятнах ее историографии — о том, что Вальтер Миньоло называл «темными сторонами современности». Позволяя буквам двух разных слов накладываться друг друга, Лагомарсино одновременно и связывает, и разделяет слова, углубляя и расширяя смысловую нагрузку обоих. Эффект усиливается благодаря многократному повторению, когда одно слово уже неотделимо от другого. Работа может быть прочитана и как критика общего заблуждения о том, что Америка — это только Соединенные Штаты Америки.


Руно Лагомарсино живет и работает в Мальмё, Швеция. Лагомарсино использует различные средства выразительности: скульптуру, инсталляцию, рисунок — и указывает на пробелы и несостыковки в наших объяснительных моделях и, казалось бы, прописных истинах, тем самым подчеркивая всю неоднозначность языка. Язык, география, историография и власть — это неизменные темы, к которым он обращается в своих работах. Художник часто использует материалы, которые вызывают у нас мысли о прошлом, чтобы мы попытались проследить эти связи. Лагомарсино создает формы, которые он затем атакует, сдвигает, преодолевает, исследует и противостоит им. Он вносит точные и поэтические изменения, которые порождают противоречия между языком, иконографией и главенствующей риторикой.

Фотография: Krzysztof Zielinski

Руно Лагомарсино, 1977
Швеция

www.runolagomarsino.com/

Мы используем cookies, чтобы улучшить работу и повысить эффективность сайта. Продолжая пользование данным сайтом, вы соглашаетесь с использованием файлов cookies.

ОК