Artist of the main project
Nikita
Seleznev
Russia
Artist of the main project

Nikita Seleznev, 1990
Russia

www.instagram.com/nikita_seleznev_art/?hl=ru

Exhibition at the Optical and Mechanical Plant features the artwork

Slowly Ageing Children (2021)

Installation. Mixed media: sculpture, video with sound. Courtesy of the artist

Lev Smorgon (b. 1929), a famed toy designer-turned-sculptor, provokes the content for his project. Smorgon was able to create a kind of art that avoided official Soviet ideology and censorship. His banal, politically neutral toys let children to play in and inhabit separate worlds – almost alternative realities — that were distinct from Communism’s cult of childhood.

Seleznev questions how a child (or really anyone) copes with contemporary Russian existence. He examines the place of fantasy and asks how the creation of alternative realities can be used to escape propaganda and control. Using video and a sculptural installation made of metal and concrete, Seleznev creates a kind of monument to escapism.

His story begins: “Slowly aging children are often bored. Slowly aging children are often anxious. Even before they become adults, they are surprised to notice wrinkles on their faces and thinning hair” (Clayton Press, New York University).


Nikita Seleznev is a multi-media artist, who lives and works in St. Petersburg. Born in Perm in 1990, he studied sculpture at the St. Petersburg Stieglitz State Academy of Art and Design. 

Since 2018, Seleznev has had several solo exhibitions, including My Green Crocodile, Navicula Artis, St. Petersburg (2018); Karate Poetry, MYTH, St. Petersburg (2020) and Suburbia, Victoria Art Gallery, Samara (2020). His work has been featured in several group exhibitions, including Los Atravesados, Treize, Paris (2018); Horizon-19, New Museum of Modern Art, St. Petersburg (2019); I don't know whether the Earth is spinning or not…, VII Moscow International Biennale of Young Art (2020); 20:20. Time Has Stopped, Moscow Museum of Modern Art (2020); Assuming Distance: Speculations, Fakes, and Predictions in the Age of the Coronacene, Garage Museum of Contemporary Art, Moscow (2021), and Unfinished Project, The Boris Yeltsin Presidential Center, Ekaterinburg, (2021).

Karate Poetry was shortlisted for the "Innovation-2021" State Prize in the "New Generation" category. Previously, Seleznev participated in the CEC ArtsLink Art Prospect Fellows Program (New York, 2019) and was a resident of the Garage Studios (Moscow, 2021).

Photo by Lima Lipa

Nikita Seleznev, 1990
Russia

www.instagram.com/nikita_seleznev_art/?hl=ru

WE USE COOKIES TO MAKE THE WEBSITE WORK BETTER AND FASTER. HOPE YOU'RE OK WITH THAT. DETAILS

ОК

Художник основного проекта
Никита
Селезнев
Россия
Художник основного проекта

Никита Селезнев, 1990
Россия

www.instagram.com/nikita_seleznev_art/?hl=ru

На оптико-механическом заводе представлена работа

Медленно стареющие дети (2021)

Инсталляция. Cмешанная техника: скульптура, видео со звуком. Предоставлено автором

Тема этого проекта вдохновлена фигурой известного ленинградского конструктора игрушек (а позже скульптора) Льва Сморгона (р. 1929). Сморгон сумел создать вид искусства, избежавший официальной советской идеологии и цензуры. Его простые, политически нейтральные игрушки позволяли детям играть и населять отдельные миры — почти альтернативные реальности, — которые отличались от коммунистического культа детства.

Селезнев задается вопросом: а как в современной России ребенок (да и вообще кто-либо) справляется с реальностью? Он исследует место фантазии и то, как создание альтернативных реальностей поможет избежать пропаганды и контроля. Видео и скульптурная инсталляция, из которых состоит работа, представляют собой своеобразный памятник эскапизму.

Его история начинается так: «Медленно стареющим детям часто бывает скучно. Медленно стареющим детям часто бывает тревожно. Так и не успев стать взрослыми, они с удивлением стали замечать морщины на своих лицах и редеющие волосы» (Clayton Press, New York University).


Никита Селезнев (р. 1990, Пермь) — мультимедиа художник, живет и работает в Санкт-Петербурге. Обучался в Санкт-Петербургской художественно-промышленной академии им. А. Л. Штиглица по классу скульптуры.

 Избранные персональные выставки: «Мой зеленый крокодил» (галерея «Navicula Artis», Санкт-Петербург, 2018), «Карате-поэзия» (галерея «MYTH», Санкт-Петербург, 2020), «Субурбия» (галерея «Виктория», Самара, 2020). Участник многочисленных групповых выставок, в том числе «Сессия нежности» (галерея Treize, Париж, 2018) «Горизонт-19» (Новый музей, Санкт-Петербург, 2019), «Я не знаю, Земля кружится или нет...» (Основной проект VII  Московской международной биеннале молодого искусства, Москва; Музей Москвы, 2020),  «20:20. Время остановилось» (Московский  музей современного искусства, 2020),  «Выбирая дистанцию: спекуляции, фейки, прогнозы в эпоху коронацена» (Музей современного искусства «Гараж», Москва, 2021) и «Незаконченный проект» (Президентский центр Б.Н. Ельцина, Екатеринбург, 2021).

Номинант Государственной премии «Инновация» в номинации «Новая генерация» (2021, проект «Карате-поэзия»). Участник программы резиденций CEC ArtsLink Art Prospect Fellows Program (Нью-Йорк, 2019) и резидент мастерских Музея «Гараж» (Москва, 2021). 

Фото Лима Липа

Никита Селезнев, 1990
Россия

www.instagram.com/nikita_seleznev_art/?hl=ru

Мы используем cookies, чтобы улучшить работу и повысить эффективность сайта. Продолжая пользование данным сайтом, вы соглашаетесь с использованием файлов cookies.

ОК