Artists of the main project
Maria Morina, Marina Karpova, Katerina Sokolovskaya
Russia
Artists of the main project

Maria Morina, Marina Karpova, Katerina Sokolovskaya
Russia

mariamorina.com/
www.instagram.com/sokolovskaya.kate/
chernayaevm.ru

The Circus features the artwork

Simple Songs (2021)

Installation: sculptural group (polystyrene foam, plastic, silicone, concrete), four-channel audio (30′00″), libretto. Dimensions variable. Courtesy of the artists

The three-author art group presents its media installation project, inviting the audience to participate in the game and, at the same time, to listen to contemporary opera. During the pandemic, we encountered something total. This was happening simultaneously in many spaces: humming the membranes of social media, flooding the smell of chlorine in entryways, and sticking to the cellular level, bypassing consciousness. If metaphors are the best available way to find an approach to reality, which ones could we use to describe this shared experience?

Part of the communication within this installation takes place in the space of music, where false statements are impossible; the rest takes place in the space of language and forms, where the consciousness needs to separate meaning from noise and recognize manipulation. The libretto that underlies the work is created in the genre of documentary poetry and is composed of quotations from private and public messages, as well as verbs used by the president in addresses to the people; verbs produced by the virus in relation to the cell; and verbs describing the daily physical and emotional labor of women. The structure of this eclectic score references compositional techniques from the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the Baroque and musical minimalism, and engages the technique of artistic melodeclamation.

Within the installation, musical patterns take sculptural form, which immerses visitors in a type of listening that is close to meditative or religious practices. The sculptures involved in the installation have a pleasant surface to the touch, on which guests can sit while listening to the opera, can lie, sway and crawl on it.


Maria Morina is an interdisciplinary artist working with documentary text, video and photography. She took part in exhibitions at the Le Radar gallery (Bayou, France, 2014), the Visual Culture Center (Kiev, 2015), in the Rencontres d'Arles festivals (Arles, France, 2018), Rencontres Internationales (Grand Palais, Paris, 2020), Garage Museum, Moscow, Russia (2021), etc. She has directed the films Just Don't Press Stop (2017) and Youth of Nizhny Tagil (2011-2019). She is co-author of the cross-media project Grozny: Nine Cities (2009–2018). Finalist of The Aftermath Project grant (USA). Winner of the Luma Rencontres Dummy Book Award Arles (France) and the Prix Bayeux-Calvados Awards (France). Lives and works in St. Petersburg.

Marina Karpova is a sound specialist and independent sound researcher. She teaches musical theoretical disciplines and lectures on music and sound. She is engaged in field recordings, independently makes DIY devices for sound recording (hydrophones, contact microphones and other devices), conducts sound walks, plays the cello, piano and recorder, creates sound installations, writes music in a code and a traditional way, produces projects and laboratories related to sound and music in St. Petersburg, music and sound design for plays, performances and video works. Lives and works in St. Petersburg.

Katerina Sokolovskaya is a sculptor and curator. She works with themes of space perception and non-violent coexistence using a variety of media, including installation, sculpture, performance and video. She graduated from the master's program "Curatorial studies" of the St. Petersburg State University (Smolny College), and the Stieglitz St. Petersburg State Academy of Arts and Industry, and studied at the Eugene Geppert Academy of Arts and Design in Wroclaw, Poland. She took part in exhibitions: 2nd Curatorial Forum, St. Petersburg, Russia; OpenOut Festival in Tromso, Norway (2019); Garage Museum, Moscow, Russia (2021, 2017). Supervised the Agile gallery project, 8th Art-Prospect festival; project "Natural Circulation". She is author of lectures and programs on sculpture, teaches at the HSE School of Design. Lives and works in Moscow.

Maria Morina, Marina Karpova, Katerina Sokolovskaya
Russia

mariamorina.com/
www.instagram.com/sokolovskaya.kate/
chernayaevm.ru

projects and events:
20.10.21 – 22.10.21
Wednesday – Friday 16:00
The Main Project
Circus, 8 Marta St., 43, Ekaterinburg
Simple Songs Performace by Maria Morina, Marina Karpova, and Katerina Sokolovskaya
Circus, 8 Marta St., 43, Ekaterinburg
23.10.21 24.10.21
Saturday, Sunday 18:00
The Main Project
Circus, 8 Marta St., 43, Ekaterinburg
Simple Songs Performace by Maria Morina, Marina Karpova, and Katerina Sokolovskaya
Circus, 8 Marta St., 43, Ekaterinburg

WE USE COOKIES TO MAKE THE WEBSITE WORK BETTER AND FASTER. HOPE YOU'RE OK WITH THAT. DETAILS

ОК

Художники основного проекта
Мария Морина, Марина Карпова, Катерина Соколовская
Россия
Художники основного проекта

Мария Морина, Марина Карпова, Катерина Соколовская
Россия

mariamorina.com/
www.instagram.com/sokolovskaya.kate/
chernayaevm.ru

В цирке представлена работа

Светлые песни (2021)

Инсталляция: скульптурная группа (пеноплекс, пластик, силикон, бетон), четырехканальное аудио (30′00″), либретто. Размеры варьируются. Предоставлено автором

Арт-группа, состоящая из трех авторок, представляет свой проект медиаинсталляции, которая приглашает зрителей к участию в игре и, одновременно с этим, к прослушиванию современной оперы. «Во время пандемии мы столкнулись с чем-то тотальным. Это что-то происходило одновременно во многих пространствах: гудело мембранами социальных сетей, затапливало запахом хлорки в подъездах и липло на клеточном уровне, минуя сознание. Если метафоры — лучший из доступных способов найти подход к реальности, то какие из них мы могли бы  использовать, чтобы описать этот общий опыт?»

Часть коммуникации внутри этой инсталляции происходит в пространстве музыки, где ложные высказывания невозможны в силу особой специфики музыкального языка; оставшаяся часть коммуникации происходит в пространстве естественного языка и форм, где сознанию необходимо отделить смысл от шума и распознать манипуляцию. Либретто, которое лежит в основе работы, создано в жанре документальной поэзии и составлено из цитат, предоставленных частными и публичными сообщениями, а также из глаголов, использованных президентом в обращениях к народу; глаголов, характеризующих поведение вируса по отношению к клетке; глаголов, описывающих ежедневный физический и эмоциональный труд женщин. Структура этой эклектичной партитуры отсылает к композиторским техникам Средневековья, Ренессанса, барокко и музыкального минимализма, а также задействует прием художественной мелодекламации.

Инсталлирование музыкальных паттернов делает звуковую часть проекта скульптурной и погружает посетителей в тот тип слушания, который близок медитативным или религиозным практикам. Скульптуры, задействованные в инсталляции, имеют приятное на ощупь покрытие, на котором гости могут расположиться во время прослушивания оперы: лежать, качаться и ползти по поверхности скульптур.


Мария Морина — междисциплинарная художница, работает с документальным текстом, видео и фотографией. Принимала участие в выставках в галерее Le Radar (Байю, Франция, 2014), Центре візуальної культури (Киев, 2015), в фестивалях Rencontres d'Arles (Арль, Франция, 2018), Rencontres Internationales (Гран Пале, Париж, 2020), Музей Гараж, Москва, Россия (2021) и др. Режиссерка фильмов «Только не нажми стоп» (2017) и «Молодость Нижний Тагил» (2011-2019). Соавторка кросс-медиа-проекта «Грозный: девять городов» (2009–2018). Финалистка гранта The Aftermath Project (США). Обладательница премий Luma Rencontres Dummy Book Award Arles (Франция) и Prix Bayeux-Calvados Awards (Франция). Живет и работает в Санкт-Петербурге.

Марина Карпова — специалистка звукового труда и независимая исследовательница звука. Преподает музыкально-теоретические дисциплины, читает лекции о музыке и звуке. Занимается полевыми записями, самостоятельно изготавливает diy девайсы для звукозаписи (гидрофоны, контактные микрофоны и другие устройства), проводит звуковые прогулки, играет на виолончели, фортепиано и блокфлейте, создает звуковые инсталляции, пишет музыку кодом и традиционным способом, создательница проектов и лабораторий связанных со звуком и музыкой в Санкт-Петербурге, музыки и саунд-дизайна к спектаклям, перформансам и видеоработам. Живет и работает в Санкт-Петербурге.

Екатерина Соколовская — скульптор и куратор. Работает с темами восприятия пространства и ненасильственного сосуществования, используя различные медиа, включая инсталляцию, скульптуру, перформанс и видео. Окончила магистерскую программу «Кураторские исследования» Санкт-Петербургского государственного университета (Смольный колледж), Санкт-Петербургскую государственную художественно-промыщленную академию им. А. Штиглица , училась в Академии искусств и дизайна им. Евгения Гепперта во Вроцлаве, Польша. Принимала участие в выставках 2-й Кураторский форум, Санкт-Петербург, Россия; OpenOut фестиваль в Тромсо, Норвегия (2019); Музей Гараж, Москва, Россия (2021, 2017). Курировала проект Agile gallery, 8-й фестиваль Арт-Проспект; проект «Естественная Циркуляция». Автор лекций и программ по скульптуре, преподает в НИУ Школа Дизайна ВШЭ. Живет и работает в Москве.

Мария Морина, Марина Карпова, Катерина Соколовская
Россия

mariamorina.com/
www.instagram.com/sokolovskaya.kate/
chernayaevm.ru

Мы используем cookies, чтобы улучшить работу и повысить эффективность сайта. Продолжая пользование данным сайтом, вы соглашаетесь с использованием файлов cookies.

ОК