Artist of the main project
Jan
St. Werner
Germany
Artist of the main project

Exhibition at the Optical and Mechanical Plant features the artwork 

Robodynamic Diffusion: RDD (2021) 

Together with Michael Akstaller,  Oliver Mayer, Juerg Andreas Meister — operator of RDD;  with support from LEONARDO, TH Nürnberg and Kunsthalle Baden-Baden

Robodynamic Diffusion: RDD is a project by a group of German artists and scientists exploring the nature of sound and its acoustic possibilities. The focus of the project RDD is the unfolding of the spatial effect of sound by decoupling the sounds from the instrument to move freely in space. During a performance, a sound robot, whose loudspeakers can turn in all possible directions, is navigated through the room. The robot is connected to a digital audio workstation and plays electronically generated sounds. The movement of the sound bodies through robotic objects in the architectural space creates acoustic reflections and resonances, sound waves break on the structural forms and set the environment into vibrations, thus influencing the sound result. The sounds are perceived in various ways depending on the robot's movement and on the viewer’s position in the room. In this way, the venue itself becomes part of the instrument and is actively involved in the composition: a transformation of space into sound.


The Circus features the performance 

Squares Will Fall (2021)

Featuring Justin Vernon. Sounds from Uma Barba, John Colpitts, Zach Condon, Mats Gustafsson, Hilary Jeffrey, Ben Lanz, Dodo NKishi, Kyle Resnick, Jeremy Ylvisaker. Performed by Danil Balakin, Sergey Fedorenko, Denis Karpov

Squares Will Fall is a multidirectional loudspeaker choreography performed live by three acrobats of the Ekaterinburg Circus. The audience is free to move around during the performance and make audio recordings for their personal use.

The piece is about absence, a clownery without an actor. The audience's jouissance is facilitated by animating sound objects which substitute the presence of a singer, a band, a show. And yet there is an act.

Squares Will Fall spins around the themes travesty, farce and clownery. Clownery is the title of a russian underground movie from 1989 about russian writer and artist Daniil Kharms (1989 was also the the breaking point of the soviet republic): Clownery, the tragicomedy of the absurd, is based on the works of Daniil Kharms (1905–1942). Trying to recreate reality 30s, who came to the flowering of creativity Kharms, the director plays the style of filming, acting at that time and enters into the picture, "the aged" sound, thus achieving maximum reliability of the author's text and sound to help the viewer to immerse themselves in the atmosphere, in which the classic of absurdism lived and worked. This is a world of illusions, allusions and associations, reflecting a stream of consciousness living in an era of detachment.


The White tower features the sound installation

Vertical Swing (2021)

A resonating bass frequency on floor one is the basis for Jan St. Werner’s sound piece. Werner responds to the continuous swell and decay of the busy traffic noise that surrounds the tower by adjusting two sine wave oscillators to its unstable metrics. One sine wave is played through one of two open holes in the ceiling facing downwards into the first floor of the building. The second sine wave is played through the second hole facing upwards into floor two. The two signals overlap and create circulating sound patterns that activate and connect the spacious floors of the tower.


Jan St. Werner is an artist and electronic music composer based in Berlin. Widely recognized as one half of the electronic music group Mouse on Mars, he has also pursued a solo career creating music under his own name as well as Lithops, Noisemashinetapes, and Neuter River. Starting in the mid-1990s as part of Cologne’s A-Musik collective, St. Werner has released a steady stream of records both as a solo artist and with Mouse on Mars. He has collaborated with Oval’s Markus Popp as Microstoria and contributes music for installations and films by visual artist Rosa Barba. During the 2000s Werner acted as the artistic director for STEIM, the Dutch Studio for Electro-Instrumental Music. In 2013 St. Werner released Blaze Colour Burn, the first of a series of experimental recordings called the Fiepblatter Catalogue. St. Werner realized sound interventions and installations in art spaces such as the ICA London, documenta Athens and Kassel, Kunsthalle Düsseldorf, HKW Berlin among others. Werner has been a visiting lecturer at MIT’s Program in Art, Culture and Technology (ACT) in 2016 & 2017, served as Professor for Interactive Art and Dynamic Acoustic Research at the Academy of Fine Arts Nuremberg between 2017 and 2021, and was a visiting Professor for Sound and Performance at the Academy of Fine Arts Munich from 2020 to 2021. He is currently Artist in House at Staatliche Kunsthalle Baden-Baden, Germany.

WE USE COOKIES TO MAKE THE WEBSITE WORK BETTER AND FASTER. HOPE YOU'RE OK WITH THAT. DETAILS

ОК

Художник основного проекта
Ян
Ст. Вернер
Германия
Художник основного проекта

Ян Ст. Вернер, 1969
Германия

fiepblatter.com/
www.instagram.com/fiepblattercatalogue/

На оптико-механическом заводе представлена работа 

Robodynamic Diffusion: RDD (2021)

Cовместно с Майкл Аксталлер, Неле Йегер и Оливер Майер, при поддержке центра творчества и инноваций LEONARDO, TH Nürnberg и Кунстхалле Баден-Бадена

«Рободинамическая диффузия: RDD» — это проект группы немецких художников и ученых, исследующих природу звука и его акустические возможности. Инсталляция  направлена на исследование эффекта свободного перемещения звука в пространстве, которое происходит в момент отсоединения звуков от издающих их объектов. Роботизированные конструкции способны самостоятельно передвигаться и одновременно воспроизводить генерируемые электроникой звуки. Их движение в архитектурном пространстве создает акустические отражения и резонансы; звуковые волны разбиваются о материальные объекты в пространстве и заставляют окружающую среду колебаться. Звуки воспринимаются по-разному в зависимости от движения робота и от положения зрителя в зале. Таким образом, само пространство становится инструментом, активно участвующим в создании звуковой композиции и процессе преобразования пространства в звук.


В цирке представлен перформанс 

Квадраты будут падать (2021)

при участии Джастина Вернона. Музыкальное сопровождение: Ума Барба, Мэтс Густафсон, Хилари Джефри, Джереми Илвисакер, Джона Колпитс, Зака Кондон, Бена Ланц, Додо НКиши, Кайл Резник. Исполнители: Данил Балакин, Денис Карпов, Сергей Федоренко

Перформанс «Квадраты будут падать» — это хореография разнонаправленных динамиков в сопровождении трех акробатов Екатеринбургского цирка. Зрители могут свободно перемещаться во время выступления и делать аудиозаписи для личного пользования.

Это клоунада без живых актеров, где оживающие механические объекты заменяют живое присутствие певцов и музыкантов на сцене, но где, тем не менее, присутствует действие.

Перформанс выстроен вокруг таких тем, как пародия, фарс и клоунада. Обращение к жанру клоунады отсылает к одноименному российскому андеграундному фильму 1989 года режиссера Дмитрия Фролова о Данииле Хармсе (1905–1942). Фильм «Клоунада» — это трагикомедия абсурда, которая основана на произведениях Хармса. Пытаясь воссоздать действительность 1930-х — периода, на который пришелся расцвет творчества Хармса, — режиссер воспроизводит стиль съемок того времени и вводит в картину «состаренный» звук, таким образом добиваясь максимальной достоверности авторского текста и помогая зрителю погрузиться в атмосферу, в которой жил и творил классик абсурда. Фильм передает атмосферу мира иллюзий, аллюзий и ассоциаций, отражая поток сознания творца, живущего в эпоху безмолвия.


Ян Ст. Вернер родился в 1969 году в Нюрнберге. Он  — художник и композитор электронной музыки, живет в Берлине. Наиболее известный как один из участников инновационного электронного дуэта Mouse on Mars, он также занимался сольной карьерой, создавая музыку под своим именем и псевдонимами Lithops, Noisemashinetapes and Neuter River. Ян сотрудничал с Маркусом Поппом из Oval и писал музыку для инсталляций и фильмов визуального художника Розы Барбы. В 2000-х годах он выступал в качестве художественного руководителя Амстердамского института электронной музыки (STEIM). В 2013 году Вернер выпустил Blaze Colour Burn, первую из серии экспериментальных записей под названием  «Fiepblatter Catalogue» на Thrill Jockey Records, Чикаго. Вернер реализовал звуковые интервенции и инсталляции в арт-пространствах, среди которых ICA London, documenta Athen and Kassel, Kunsthalle Düsseldorf, HKW Berlin. Вернер был приглашенным лектором программы Массачусетского технологического института по искусству, культуре и технологиям (ACT) в 2016 и 2017 годах, работал профессором интерактивного искусства и динамических акустических исследований в Академии изящных искусств в Нюрнберге с 2017 по 2021 год. В настоящее время он является приглашенным профессором в Академии изящных искусств Мюнхена.

Ян Ст. Вернер, 1969
Германия

fiepblatter.com/
www.instagram.com/fiepblattercatalogue/

проекты и события:
2.10.21 3.10.21
Суббота, Воскресенье 14:00 – 14:30 16:00 – 16:30
Основной проект
УОМЗ, Восточная, 33Б, Екатеринбург
Рободинамическая диффузия RDD Перформанс
УОМЗ, Восточная, 33Б, Екатеринбург
2.10.21, 5.10.21 – 10.10.21
Вторник – Воскресенье 19:00 – 19:30
Основной проект
Цирк, 8 Марта, 43, Екатеринбург
«Квадраты будут падать» Перформанс Яна Ст. Вернера
Цирк, 8 Марта, 43, Екатеринбург

Мы используем cookies, чтобы улучшить работу и повысить эффективность сайта. Продолжая пользование данным сайтом, вы соглашаетесь с использованием файлов cookies.

ОК