Artists of the main project
Fehras Publishing Practices
Syria / Germany
Artists of the main project

Fehras Publishing Practices , 2015
Syria / Germany

www.fehraspublishingpractices.org/

Exhibition at the Salute Cinema features the artwork

Soapy Postmodern Bathwater (2017)

The film Soapy Postmodern Bathwater takes the viewer to a not-so-distant future, to a language laboratory where researchers analyze human bodies — people who collapsed while reading bilingual art books. It is a strange phenomenon that has led intellectuals, artists, curators, and exhibition visitors into physical paralysis and a coma.

Attempting to track the phenomenon, researchers resort to a range of analytical procedures, with the presumption that the language of the books the afflicted bilingual bodies are reading causes the coma. Through the analysis of bodily memory, the researchers attempt to understand the effect of this language on the body. Striving to produce effective outcomes, they have equipped their laboratory with a range of work supplies, among them flasks of post-modern liquids, distributed according to emergency art terms; basins of fermenting images and book covers; notecards to organize the terms extracted from the bodies under analysis; and also logs with publication details of the books born by the bilingual bodies — the same books that caused their coma. The rest includes historical discoveries such as pages of glossaries and dictionaries, and images that help to understand the bilingual bodies in a context of translation and the production of cultural glossaries.

The film traces the authority imposed by language — the construction of terms and institutions — on the cultural body and in turn the effect of language on artistic practice and artwork. Originally produced for the Sharjah Biennale 13 Tamawuj, the film is a part of the series of Institutional Terms; a long-term research project that follows the impact of the language, term, and institution on global artistic practices.


Fehras Publishing Practices (Sami Rustom, Omar Nicolas, and Kenan Darwich) is an artist collective founded in 2015 in Berlin. It researches the history and presence of publishing and its entanglement in the socio-political and cultural sphere in the Eastern Mediterranean, North Africa, and the Arab diaspora. It observes publishing as a possibility for creating and accumulating knowledge and thus initiates projects that carry different formats such as installations, films, publications, lectures, and performances aiming to extend the notion of publishing. The collective’s investigations take place in public libraries, book markets, private and institutional collections. Fehras explores publishers and searches university catalogs as well as journalistic, radio, and television archives. Personal stories of publishers, memoirs, letters, and photographs are also part of this research.

Selected recent exhibitions: The Mosaic Rooms, London (solo, 2021); Haus der Statistik, Berlin (solo, 2021); Crac Occitanie, Sète (2020); MMAG Foundation, Amman (2020); Neuer Berliner Kunstverein, Berlin (2019); Sharjah Art Foundation (solo, 2018); EMST, Athens (2018); District Berlin (2017); Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin (2017); SAVVY Contemporary, Berlin (2017); Sharjah Biennial (2017); Kunsthal Aarhus (2016). The three were artists-in-residence at Delfina Foundation, London; Ashkal Alwan, Beirut, and Villa Romana, Florence. They have been awarded a Berlin Artistic Research Grant for 2020/21.

Fehras Publishing Practices , 2015
Syria / Germany

www.fehraspublishingpractices.org/

WE USE COOKIES TO MAKE THE WEBSITE WORK BETTER AND FASTER. HOPE YOU'RE OK WITH THAT. DETAILS

ОК

Художники основного проекта
Fehras Publishing Practices
Сирия / Германия
Художники основного проекта

Fehras Publishing Practices , 2015
Сирия / Германия

www.fehraspublishingpractices.org/

В кинотеатре Салют представлена работа

Мыльная постмодернистская вода в ванне (2017)

Фильм «Мыльная постмодернистская вода в ванне» переносит зрителя в недалекое будущее, в языковую лабораторию, где исследователи анализируют тела людей, которые надолго потеряли сознание из-за чтения двуязычных книг по искусству. Это странное явление привело интеллектуалов, художников, кураторов и посетителей выставок к параличу и коме. 

Пытаясь найти причины этого явления, исследователи прибегают к ряду аналитических процедур, полагая, что кому вызывает язык книг, которые читали эти люди. Среди этих процедур — анализ телесной памяти, с помощью которого они пытаются понять влияние языка на тело. Стремясь добиться эффективных результатов, исследователи оснастили свою лабораторию различными инструментами. Среди них фляги с постмодернистскими жидкостями, распределенные согласно правилам экстренного искусства; сосуды с ферментированными изображениями и книжными обложками; карточки для систематизации терминов, извлеченных из анализируемых тел; а также журналы с выходными данными книг, рожденных двуязычными телами — тех самых, которые вызвали кому. Также в лаборатории есть исторические находки, например, страницы словарей и иллюстрации, которые помогают понять двуязычные тела в контексте перевода и составления глоссариев культурных терминов.

Таким образом, в фильме исследуется власть языка над телом культуры, которая проявляется в создании институций и понятийного аппарата, которые в свою очередь влияют на художественную практику и произведения искусства. Фильм был создан для 13-й биеннале в Шардже «Тамавудж» и является частью серии «Институциональные условия» – долгосрочного исследовательского проекта, посвященного влиянию языка, терминологии и институций на мировые художественные практики.


Fehras Publishing Practices (Сами Рустом, Омар Николас и Кенан Дарвиш) – коллектив художников, основанный в 2015 году в Берлине. Объединение исследует историю издательского дела и его влияние на социально-политическую и культурную жизнь в Восточном Средиземноморье, Северной Африке и арабских диаспорах. Художники рассматривают публикацию как способ создания и накопления знаний, и поэтому реализуют свои проекты в различных форматах: инсталляции, фильмы, публикации, лекции и спектакли. Так, они хотят расширить представление об издательском деле. Они проводят исследования в публичных библиотеках, частных и институциональных коллекциях и книжных магазинах. Fehras Publishing Practices изучает издательства, университетские каталоги, а также в журналистские, радио и телевизионные архивы. Предметом исследования также становятся и личные истории участников, мемуары, письма и фотографии.

Избранные выставки: галерея The Mosaic Rooms (персональная, Лондон, 2021); Haus der Statistik (персональная, Берлин, 2021); Crac Occitanie, Сет (2020); Фонд MMAG, Амман (2020 г.); Neuer Berliner Kunstverein (Берлин, 2019); Sharjah Art Foundation (персональная, 2018); EMST (Афины, 2018); District Berlin (2017); Дом культур мира  (Берлин, 2017); SAVVY Contemporary (Берлин, 2017); Шарджинская биеннале (ОАЭ, 2017); Кунстхал Орхус (2016). Все трое участвовали в арт-резиденциях Фонда Дельфина в Лондоне, Ашкал Алван в Бейруте и вилле Романа во Флоренции. Fehras Publishing Practices также выиграли Берлинский грант на художественные исследования на 2020/21 год.

Fehras Publishing Practices , 2015
Сирия / Германия

www.fehraspublishingpractices.org/

Мы используем cookies, чтобы улучшить работу и повысить эффективность сайта. Продолжая пользование данным сайтом, вы соглашаетесь с использованием файлов cookies.

ОК