Artist of the main project
Sriwhana
Spong
New Zealand / UK
Artist of the main project

Sriwhana Spong, 1979
New Zealand / UK

www.instagram.com/sriwhana/

The Post building features the artwork

This Creature (2016)

Single-channel color HD-video with sound, 14′55″. Courtesy of the artist

This Сreature refers to an early fifteenth-century medieval text called The Book of Margery Kempe, considered the first autobiographical work in English. This strange book transcends all classifications and presents the many identities of the woman who dictated it: mother, wife, heretic, laywoman, businesswoman, pilgrim, madwoman; which makes the reader experience a whole gamut of different emotions from boredom and annoyance to admiration. But the most remarkable thing about the book is that throughout the narrative, Margery Kempe refers to herself as “this creature”, avoiding giving her own name. Her body’s feelings and desires clash with the practical need to maintain her reputation as a spiritual writer without being branded a heretic, and the text forces the body to hide behind institutional language, which creates a strange form that throws the reader off-balance. “This creature” permeates the form of the work and the reader. The nature of this creature is unlocatable, but very much alive.

This Creature weaves a narrative whose starting point was a failed request to view the oldest known manuscript of The Book of Margery Kempe housed in the British Library. The desire to touch, being touched, being “touched” and the variety of illnesses ascribed by scholars to what Margery calls her gift of weeping, brush against questions of voice — having voice, hearing voices, speaking other voices. The film, shot on an i-Phone, depicts a series of ‘touchies’ or ‘feelies’ with sculptural and architectural elements in Hyde Park and the tamed birds who inhabit it.


Sriwhana Spong is an artist from Aotearoa New Zealand, living in London. She engages different mediums, including sculpture, film, and performance to create works where experiential knowledge, autobiography, and fiction interact with carefully researched materials and forms that reflect their particular cultural contexts and sources. In exploring the relationship of the body to language, how it is written, and how it exceeds and escapes this inscribing, she draws on the writings of mystic women to produce works set in motion by oscillations between distance and intimacy, where separations between genres dissolve, and the binaries of contemplation/action, mind/body, inside/outside collapse.

Recent exhibitions include The 10th Walters Prize 2021, Auckland Art Gallery (2021); Honestly Speaking: The Word, The Body and The Internet, Auckland Art Gallery (2020); castle-crystal, Edinburgh Arts Festival, Ida-Ida, Spike Island, Bristol (2019); A hook but no fish, Govett-Brewster Art Gallery, New Plymouth, and Pump House Gallery, London (2018); having-seen-snake, Michael Lett, Auckland (2017) and Oceanic Feeling with Maria Taniguchi, ICA, Singapore (2016).

Sriwhana Spong, 1979
New Zealand / UK

www.instagram.com/sriwhana/

WE USE COOKIES TO MAKE THE WEBSITE WORK BETTER AND FASTER. HOPE YOU'RE OK WITH THAT. DETAILS

ОК

Художник основного проекта
Шривана
Спонг
Новая Зеландия / Великобритания
Художник основного проекта

Шривана Спонг, 1979
Новая Зеландия / Великобритания

www.instagram.com/sriwhana/

В здании Главпочтамта представлена работа

Это существо (2016)

Одноканальное видео высокого разрешения, цветное, со звуком, 14′55″. Предоставлено автором

Фильм «Это существо» отсылает к средневековому тексту начала XV века под названием «Книга Марджери Кемпе», которая считается первым автобиографическим произведением на английском языке. Эта странная книга выходит за рамки любых классификаций; женщина, которая ее надиктовала, предстает во множестве идентичностей: мать, жена, еретичка, мирянка, деловая женщина, паломница, сумасшедшая; — в результате чего читатель испытывает гамму разнообразных эмоций — от скуки и раздражения до восхищения. Но самое примечательное в книге то, что на протяжении всего повествования Марджери Кемпе называет себя «этим существом», избегая упоминания собственного имени. Чувства и желания ее тела вступают в конфронтацию с практической необходимостью сохранить репутацию духовного писателя и не быть заклейменной как еретичка, и текст заставляет тело спрятаться за институциональным языком и создает странную форму, выводящую читателя из равновесия. «Это существо» наполняет произведение и читателя; его природа трудноуловима, но оно весьма жизнеспособно.

Отправной точкой для автора фильма послужил отказ Британской библиотеки в просмотре старейшей известной рукописи «Книги Марджери Кемпе». Желание прикоснуться, быть потроганным и «растроганным» и множество недугов, которые исследователи связывали с так называемым даром плача Марджери Кемпе, — темы, которые затрагивает фильм наряду с темой голоса: слышать голоса, обрести собственный голос, говорить разными голосами. Фильм, снятый художницей на собственный iPhone, показывает серию «прикосновений» или «ощущений» во взаимодействии со скульптурными и архитектурными элементами и прирученными птицами в лондонском Гайд-парке.


Шривана Спонг — новозеландская художница, живет и работает в Лондоне. Спонг использует различные медиа: скульптуру, кино и перформанс. В ее произведениях эмпирические знания, личные воспоминания и художественная литература воплощены в тщательно подобранных материалах и формах, которые отражают их особый культурный контекст и источники. Изучая отношения тела к языку, как оно написано, и как оно выходит за рамки написанного и ускользает от него, Спонг обращается к текстам женщин-мистиков. Так, она создает динамичные работы, балансирующие на грани расстояния и близости; в них стираются жанровые различия и разрушаются бинарные оппозиции: созерцание/действие, ум/тело, внутреннее/ внешнее.

Недавние выставки: «The 10th Walters Prize 2021», Оклендская художественная галерея (2021 год); «Honestly Speaking: The Word», «The Body and The Internet», там же (2020); «castle-crystal», Эдинбургский фестиваль искусств, «Ida-Ida», центр современного искусства Spike Island, Бристоль (2019); «A hook but no fish», галерея Говетт-Брюстер, Нью-Плимут и галерея Памп-Хаус, Лондон (2018); «Have-seen-snake», Майкл Летт, Окленд (2017) и «Oceanic Feeling» с Марией Танигучи, ICA, Сингапур (2016).

Шривана Спонг, 1979
Новая Зеландия / Великобритания

www.instagram.com/sriwhana/

Мы используем cookies, чтобы улучшить работу и повысить эффективность сайта. Продолжая пользование данным сайтом, вы соглашаетесь с использованием файлов cookies.

ОК