Artist of the main project
Ulrike
Ottinger
Germany
Artist of the main project

Ulrike Ottinger, 1942
Germany

www.ulrikeottinger.com/en/

The Circus features the artwork

Freak Orlando (1981)

Film, 35 mm, color, with sound, 126″. Courtesy of Ulrike Ottinger Filmproduktion

In her films, a renowned German film director, producer and artist Ulrike Ottinger, has been exploring new territories at the intersection of different realities. Freak Orlando (1981) is an outrageous time-travelling masquerade, structured in five episodes. Classified by Ottinger as Welttheater (World Theatre), it aims to encompass human history from its origins to the present, emphasising prejudice, incompetence, lust for power, fear, madness, cruelty and everyday life. The props used in the film are deliberately artificial, and the scenery is a genuine Berlin industrial landscape.

Albeit with extreme irony, Ottinger revisits Virginia Woolf’s novel Orlando: A Biography (1928), considered a landmark of modernist, feminist, queer and transgender writing, which follows a poet who lives for centuries, through various historical time-periods, and while doing so changes sex. Ottinger’s protagonists are a series of ‘disillusioned characters’ that recall carnival’s embracing of the marginalized, Tod Browning’s film Freaks (1932) and the photography of Diane Arbus. In this way, Ottinger blends Woolf’s novel with German camp into a theatre of difference.


Ulrike Ottinger was born in 1942 in Konstanz, Germany. She is a filmmaker and photographer. Ottinger has also worked as a lithographer and painter. Since 2019, she has been a member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Ottinger's films feature life in various Asian regions. Her films include elements of fantasy and ethnographic explorations.

Ulrike Ottinger, 1942
Germany

www.ulrikeottinger.com/en/

WE USE COOKIES TO MAKE THE WEBSITE WORK BETTER AND FASTER. HOPE YOU'RE OK WITH THAT. DETAILS

ОК

Художник основного проекта
Ульрике
Оттингер
Германия
Художник основного проекта

Ульрике Оттингер, 1942
Германия

www.ulrikeottinger.com/en/

В цирке представлена работа

Фрик Орландо (1981)

Фильм, 35 мм, цветной, со звуком. 126″. Предоставлено Ulrike Ottinger Filmproduktion

Фильмы признанного немецкого режиссера, продюсера и художника Ульрике Оттингер — это открытие новых территорий, где происходит слияние разных реальностей, скрещиваются художественный вымысел и документалистика. Фильм «Фрик Орландо» (1981) — эпатажный маскарад и путешествие во времени в пяти эпизодах. Свою вселенную Оттингер называет Welttheater (нем. мировой театр), и ее постоянные метаморфозы связывают прошедшие эпохи с настоящим временем, выявляя предрассудки, невежество, жажду власти, страх, безумие, жестокость в повседневности. Использованный в фильме реквизит намеренно искусственный, а декорациями служит реальный берлинский индустриальный пейзаж.

Не без иронии Оттингер переосмысляет роман Вирджинии Вулф «Орландо» (1928), который считается вехой в модернистской, феминистской, квир- и трансгендерной литературе, поскольку рассказывает о поэте, который путешествует сквозь века, меняя пол. Главные герои фильма — несколько «разочарованных персонажей», которые напоминают о карнавальной традиции чествовать нищих и отсылают к фильму Тода Браунинга «Уродцы» (1932) и фотографиям Дианы Арбус. Таким образом, из совмещения романа Вульф с немецким лагерем Оттингер создает театр различия.


Фотограф и кинорежиссер Ульрике Оттингер родилась в 1942 году в Констанце, Германия. Также она занимается литографией и живописью. В 2019 году Оттингер стала членом Академии кинематографических искусств и наук. Ее фильмы посвящены жизни жизни в азиатских регионах, содержат элементы фантазии и этнографических исследований.

Ульрике Оттингер, 1942
Германия

www.ulrikeottinger.com/en/

Мы используем cookies, чтобы улучшить работу и повысить эффективность сайта. Продолжая пользование данным сайтом, вы соглашаетесь с использованием файлов cookies.

ОК